top of page

Education Committee to Community: Please contribute to Scholarship Fund

Nia Rogers, former Fauquier NAACP scholarship recipient, speaks of her first year at The University of Virginia's College at Wise.

Every year, through donations from its members as well as local businesses and others in the community, Fauquier NAACP is able to provide scholarships to one graduating senior at each of our three local high schools. Mike Hammond, co-chair of Fauquier NAACP's Education Committee, has announced the launch of a scholarship fundraising campaign leading up to the end of the 2022 school year in May.

Scholarships are currently $500 each. To date, Fauquier NAACP has awarded a total of $3,000 to nine students. The cost of education beyond high school is increasing, and it is the goal of the Education Committee to increase the amount of our scholarships as well as the number of recipients. But we'll need help -- donations are needed not only to expand the program, but to sustain it currently.

Scholarships are awarded for academic achievement, good citizenship, leadership, service, and participation in activities in and out of school. Scholarships are available to applicants attending accredited trade, vocational, and technical schools; community colleges; or four-year colleges and universities. Minority applicants, applicants who face financial or personal hardships, and those who are dedicated to improving their local communities are encouraged to apply.

100% of designated donations goes to the scholarship fund.

Donate online here. Designate your contribution as Scholarship Fund.

Mail checks to: NAACP Fauquier County, PO Box 82, Bealeton VA 22712. Please note on your check: Scholarship Fund.

* * *

To be eligible for a scholarship, a student must have a 2.5 grade point average and complete either the online or paper application process. Access online application here.

For paper application, contact the Education Committee at:, or your high school counseling office.

Applications and all supporting documents must be received by March 25, 2022.


bottom of page